Our History
The first organizational meeting of the Florida Gulf Coast Surface Design Guild was held on Feb. 24, 2000 at the Selby Library in Sarasota, Florida, under the leadership of Louise Hall, who became our first president.  Fourteen enthusiastic people were present.

After discussing what surface design encompassed and what it takes to set up an organization, Louise set the tone for future meetings by demonstrating her use of machine sewing on soda cans.  We were all inspired to try new things.  Subsequent meetings continue to have member-led presentations on individual's specialties, which is stimulating for us all. 

Our first formal election of officers took place on February 25, 2003.  Emily Dunham-Smith succeeded Pat Fox as president.  Nancy David was elected president in February, 2004.  Lois Mills served as president from 2005-07.
patsy monk served as President from 2007-2008. Kendra Newman served as President from 2008-2009, Kim Sherrod served as President from 2009-2011, Kim Hale served as President from 2011-2013, Michelle Held served as President from 2013-2015, Gerry Swormstedt served as President from 2015-2016, and Laurie Dunham served as President from 2016-2017.  Cheri Downie is currently serving as President. 

Our Current Board

 Site Map
 © 2016 Surface Design Guild Sarasota
Powered by Wild Apricot. Try our all-in-one platform for easy membership management